Les Vendeurs informels de Ladysmith s'unissent pour résister à l'expulsion forcée des coiffeurs de rue vers une zone sujette aux inondations, sans alternatives ou négociation

Le 16 Août 2012

Une bataille qui existe depuis 2009 entre la Municipalité de Ladysmith et les vendeurs de rue a fait qu'ils puissent organiser une marche de protestation qui a eu lieu le 7 Août 2012 contre le harcèlement, les expulsions forcées de la part de la police et l'absence de prestation de services. Un mémorandum a été remis au Bureau de Nomusa Dube, Ministre provinciale chargée des gouvernements locaux, comme les vendeurs de rue affirment qu'ils ne croient plus à la coopération de leur municipalité locale.

Zama Zondi de l'organisation ITSS qui représente les coiffeurs de rue ainsi que d'autres vendeurs informels à Ladysmith fait remarquer que la municipalité a commencé à violer les droits des vendeurs de rue, juste après l'annonce du Gouverneur et de la Ministre provinciale selon la quelle Ladysmith allait recevoir un financement dans le cadre d'un programme de valorisation de petites villes du KZN.

Les vendeurs de rue de Ladysmith sont en activité de vente depuis 16 ans. "Le Directeur municipal, M. Habib Khathide et son personnel ont pris une décision erronée d'ériger une structure pour les vendeurs de rue dans une zone sujette aux inondations, qui se trouve sur les rives de la rivière Klip. Ils n'ont même pas consulté les personnes concernées", a-t-il dit.

Une protestation a été organisée récemment par les vendeurs de rue pour attirer l'attention sur le harcèlement, les expulsions forcées par la police et l'absence de prestation de services

Zondi a continué à citer la charte de la liberté de l'ANC, qui affirme que le peuple doit avoir la liberté de choix. "On ne peut pas exercer le régime d'apartheid aux pauvres qui n'ont pas le pouvoir de se libérer de l'oppression. Nous avons lancé un appel à la Ministre provinciale pour qu'elle intervienne parce que la situation est très tendue pour le moment. Les gens sont frustrés parce qu'ils ne sont pas écoutés. Leurs cabanes de vente ont été mystérieusement brûlées à plusieurs fois sans qu'on sache la cause de l'incendie. Ceux qui vendent sur les rues appelées Lyell et  Macksons sont forcés de quitter leurs maisons, mais ils hésitent de s'installer dans une zone où ils sont exposés aux inondations. La municipalité et les officiels continuent de les harceler."

Les vendeurs de rue, surtout les coiffeurs, ont reçu un préavis de courte durée pour qu'ils quittent les lieux, après que la municipalité ait refusé les demandes répétées de l'ITSS de les rencontrer. Les vendeurs de rue sont en train d'ouvrir un dossier judiciaire. L'Avocat Révérend G.S.T Radebe, qui aide l'ITSS sur une base pro bono, a écrit à la municipalité le 22 Juin, à propos de la sensibilité de l'affaire car elle implique la terre et les déséquilibres du passé qui n'ont pas été résolus- y compris les expulsions forcées. Une deuxième lettre envoyée le 14 Août demandant une réunion entre la municipalité et les vendeurs de rue, et un moratoire temporaire, n'a reçu aucune réponse.

Les luttes de l'ITSS et d'autres organisations des vendeurs de rue sont soutenues par l'Alliance des Vendeurs basée à Durban appelée Ubumbano Traders Alliance. Mzwandile Mavula, Secrétaire Général d'Ubumbano, a déclaré que son organisation avec StreetNet International (à laquelle Ubumbano est affilié), qui élargit les réseaux et représente plus de 500 000 vendeurs informels à travers des structures nationales et internationales, est en train de suivre la situation - en particulier autour du 20 Août, date prévue pour l'expulsion. "Nous pensons que c'est très honteux que dans un pays démocratique, les gens font encore recours à des tactiques alarmistes de l'époque d'apartheid et s'attaquent aux pauvres dont le commerce est leur seul moyen de survie."

Pat Horn, Coordinatrice Internationale, a déclaré que le message de StreetNet à la municipalité de Ladysmith est qu'elle doit urgemment convoquer une réunion avec les organisations représentatives des vendeurs de rue (y compris les coiffeurs de rue) pour trouver une solution à ce problème dans un esprit de dialogue social. Si elle ne le fait pas, elle risque de rencontrer une résistance unie des vendeurs de rue organisés dans toute la province du KwaZulu-Natal et le pays tout entier – parce que les vendeurs informels dans toutes les 9 provinces sont actuellement en train de s'unir pour  le lancement d'une alliance nationale de vendeurs de rue au début de 2013, afin de renforcer leur voix unie et intensifier leurs luttes contre la pauvreté et l'injustice.

Like us
Follow us on Twitter

Cités Classe Mondiale pour Tous (Portugais Blog)

Il existe également une version du Blog en portugais où l'on peut accéder à des mises à jour personnelles sur les nouvelles et événements. On peut y accéder à travers ce lien: http://streetnetbrasil.wordpress.com/
StreetNet NewsBox

NewsBox

BRASIL. Camelôs fazem protesto na Avenida Rangel Pestana. G1 Globo (11 de abril de 2015).

BRASIL. Operação retira ambulantes do calçadão do centro de Maceió. G1 Glob (7 de abril de 2015) por Carolina Sanches.

BRASIL.  Operação da PM e Prefeitura vai retirar camelôs do Comércio. Primeira Ediçao (30 de março de 2015 ).

StreetNet Internationale

StreetNet Internationale

StreetNet Internationale est une alliance des vendeurs de rue. Elle était lancée à Durban en République Sud Africaine en Novembre 2002. Ses membres sont des organisations telles les coopératives, unions ou Associations. Ces dernières regroupent directement les vendeurs de rue, du marché, et/ou les marchands en qualité de membres, qui sont ainsi autorisés à s’affilier à StreetNet Internationale.

L’ objectif de StreetNet est de promouvoir l’ echange de l’information et idées sur les questions critiques à l’ endroit des vendeurs de rue, du marché, et d’ autres marchands: à titre d’ exemple, les vendeurs mobiles. Il doit aussi promouvoir les stratégies concernant l’ organisation pratique et la defence de leur intérêts.

Ladysmith informal traders unite to resist forced removal of street barbers to flood prone area without alternatives or negotiation

16 August 2012

An ongoing battle since 2009 between the Ladysmith Municipality and Street Vendors led to street traders embarking on a protest march on the 7th August 2012 for harassment, forceful evictions by the police and lack of service delivery. A memorandum was handed to the Office of the MEC of Local Governance Nomusa Dube, as the street traders claim they no longer trust the co-operation of their local municipality.

Zama Zondi from the Informal Trade Support Services (ITSS) organisation representing the street barbers as well as other informal traders in Ladysmith commented that the municipality started violating the rights of the street vendors just after the MEC and Premier`s announcement that Ladysmith should be funded under the upliftment programme in KZNs small towns.

The street vendors in Ladysmith have been trading for 16 years. "The municipal manager, Mr Madoda Khathide and the officials made an erroneous decision to put up a structure for the street vendors to trade in the flood prone area, which is on the banks of the Klip River. They had not even consulted the people concerned," he said.

A protest march was held recently by the Street vendors to bring attention to the harassment, forceful evictions by the police and lack of service delivery

Zondi continued to quote the ANC’s freedom charter which asserts that people should have freedom of choice. "One cannot exercise the apartheid regime to poor people who have no power to free themselves from oppression. We have made an appeal to the MEC for intervention as the situation is very tense as the moment. The people are frustrated that they are not being listened to. Their trading shacks get mysteriously burnt down on numerous occasions where there is no known cause of the fire. The traders in Lyell Street as well in Macksons are forced to vacate their homes, and are reluctant to move to an area where they are susceptible to flooding. The municipality and the officials continue to harass them."

The street vendors, particularly the hairdressers, were given a short notice to vacate the premises, after refusing repeated requests to meet ITSS. The street vendors are in the process of opening a case. Advocate Rev G.S.T Radebe, who is assisting ITSS on a pro bono basis, wrote to the municipality on 22 June, about the sensitivity of the matter involving land and the imbalances of the past which have not been addressed including forced removals. In a second letter sent on 14 August requesting a meeting between the municipality and the street traders, and a temporary moratorium, have been met with no response.

The struggles of ITSS and the other street traders` organisations are supported by the Ubumbano Trader Alliance in Durban. Mzwandile Mavula, Secretary for Ubumbano, said that their organisation together with StreetNet International (to which Ubumbano is affiliated), which broadens, networks and represents over 500 000 informal traders through national and international structures, is monitoring the situation especially around the 20 August, the date of the threatened eviction. "We think it is shameful that in a democratic country, people still resort to apartheid scare tactics and prey on the poor whose trade is their only means to survival."

Pat Horn, International Co-ordinator, stated that StreetNet`s message to the Ladysmith municipality is to urgently convene a meeting with the representative organisations of the street traders (including street barbers) to find a resolution to this problem in the spirit of social dialogue. If they do not do this, they are likely to meet the united resistance of organised street vendors in the whole KwaZulu-Natal Province and the whole country as informal traders across all 9 provinces are currently uniting for the launch of a national alliance of street vendors early in 2013, to strengthen their united voice to and intensify their struggles against poverty and injustice.

Like us

World Class Cities for All - Brazil (Portuguese Blog)

There is also a portuguese version of the Blog where one can access personal updates on news and events. It can be found on this link: http://streetnetbrasil.wordpress.com/

NewsBox, 1 - 14 September 2014

NewsBox, 1 - 14 September 2014

IRAN. Tehran's vendors battle the streets to survive. The Guardian (15 September 2014).

PHILIPPINES. Estrada's tents for Quiapo vendors irk 'legit' traders. The Philippine Daily Inquirer (14 September 2014) by Nathaniel R. Melican and Djan Arell G. Magbanua.

HONG KONG. Architects step in to street vendors row. Bangkok Post (15 September 2014).

GHANA. The Feasibility Of The Ban On Street Food. Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (12 September 2014) by Zephaniah Kwesi Danaa.

USA. Vendy Awards to spotlight and honor city's best street vendors. AM New York (11 September 2014) by Ivan Pereira.

INDONESIA. Vendors adjust to new site at mall. The Jakarta Post (11 September 2014) by Josh Kelety.

ZIMBABWE. A day in the life of a female vendor. The Zimbabwean (10 September 2014) by Sofia Mapuranga.

INDIA. 269 street vendors to get identity cards soon. The Times of India (9 September 2014).

GLOBAL. International Study Finds Inclusive Practices Have Big Impact on Street Vendors and Their Households. PRWeb (9 September 2014). Five-city study from WIEGO examines impact of government policy and practice on street vendors' livelihoods.

INDONESIA. Editorial: Legalizing street vendors. The Jakarta Post (6 September 2014).

INDIA. 'Harassed' vendors want to meet PM. Deccan Herald (8 September 2014).

USA. The Untold Story of Women Vendors in New York. New America Media (8 September 2014).

MYANMAR. Street vendors to clean up their act. Myanmar Times (1 September 2014) by Ei Ei Thu and Myint Kay Thi.

USA. More Angelenos are becoming street vendors amid weak economy. LA Times (6 September 2014) by Tiffany Hsu.

INDIA. Dabbawalas not under ambit of Street Vendors' Act. DNA India (2 September 2014) by Eknath Makne.

StreetNet International

StreetNet International is an alliance of street vendors. It was launched in Durban, South Africa, in November 2002.

Membership-based organizations (unions, co-operatives or associations) directly organizing street vendors, market vendors and/or hawkers among their members, are entitled to affiliate to StreetNet International.

The aim of StreetNet is to promote the exchange of information and ideas on critical issues facing street vendors, market vendors and hawkers (i.e. mobile vendors) and on practical organizing and advocacy strategies